Johnston County Genealogy - Part of the NC GenWeb Community
Home History Surnames Queries Resources Contact


Johnston County TownshipsJohnston County was formed from Craven County in 1746 and named for Gabriel Johnston who was the royal governor of North Carolina from 1734-1752. It was later used to form parts of Dobbs, Orange, Wake and Wilson counties, but gained territory from Orange County in 1761 and from Duplin County in 1777.

In 1752, parts of Johnston County, Bladen County, and Granville County were combined to form Orange County.

On April 8, 1754, the creation of Johnston County was repealed by King George II along with several other counties. It was recreated in September 1756 by the legislature in response to Crown instructions.

The eastern portion of Johnston County became Dobbs County (now extinct) in 1759, while parts of Johnston, Cumberland, and Orange counties were combined to form Wake County in 1771. In a final partitioning, portions of Johnston, Edgecombe, Nash, and Wayne counties were combined to form Wilson County in 1855.

The first county courthouse (1747) was located near what is now Clayton, while a second was built in Smithfield in 1771. Replacement courthouses were built in Smithfield in 1786, 1843 and 1921. According to the Story of The Counties of North Carolina With Other Data, Federal troops advancing on Raleigh in 1865 threw out a number of courthouse records although very few were actually lost.

The first book of wills begins in 1760 as part of a complete set, but the entries are not in any particular order. Minutes from the county court begin in 1784, however several books are missing. Marriage bonds from 1760 to 1868 are indexed into a special book. Although missing the year 1800, deed books are complete starting from 1759.

Currently, Johnston County has an estimated population of 215,986 (2020), and encompasses an area of 796 square miles. It is one of the fastest growing counties in the United States.

For more Johnston County history, visit the Greater Smithfield-Selma Area Chamber of Commerce, the Johnston County Heritage Center, (Johnston) and (Dobbs).

Site SearchSite Search
Name IndexName Index
Nickname LookupNickname Lookup
Just BrowsingJust Browsing
Articles & Publications
Census Records
Court Records
Deaths & Obituaries
Family Reunions
Historic Places
Tax Lists
Wills & Estates
NCGenWeb Project
USGenWeb Project
USGenWeb Archives
USGenWeb Archives Srch
Tombstone Transcript Proj
The Heritage Center
JC GIS MapClick
JC Register of Deeds
NC Yearbook Index
NC State Archives
NCGH Library
NCGH Pinterest
NCGH Flickr Transcript Proj
ACPL Genealogy Center
The Family History Guide
FamilySearch Learning Center
 Adjacent CountiesAdjacent Counties
Harnett County
Nash County
Sampson County
Wake County
Wayne County
Wilson County
 Other GenWeb SitesSimilar Counties
Johnston County, Oklahoma Johnson County, Arkansas
Johnson County, Georgia
Johnson County, Illinois
Johnson County, Indiana
Johnson County, Iowa
Johnson County, Kansas
Johnson County, Kentucky
Johnson County, Missouri
Johnson County, Nebraska
Johnson County, Tennessee
Johnson County, Texas
Johnson County, Wyoming

County Coordinator
Michael W. Kay
County Volunteers
Ross Sippel
Connie Ellen Adams
Passed away on 15 July 2015

Click to visit NCGenWeb on Facebook

Click to visit NCGenWeb
Click to visit USGenWeb
Site last updated on January 14, 2024